Wyoming Work Laws


Federal law states that minors ages 14 and 15 are allowed to work: Wyoming`s whistleblower laws provide some level of protection for public employees who report alleged or observed violations of state or federal laws. Most Wyoming employers are subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, which limits 14- and 15-year-old workers to work three hours a day on a school day and eight hours a day off. It is rare for an employer to be exempted from the Fair Labor Standards Act, but state law applies in such cases. This state plan created the Wyoming Department of Manpower Services, which is dedicated to ensuring safe working conditions for Wyoming workers. If the school is in session, they can work a maximum of 3 hours per day on school days, a maximum of 8 hours per day on non-school days and a maximum of 18 hours per week during school weeks. They are only allowed to work between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. and are not allowed to work during school hours. Under federal law, workers must receive one and a half hours of the regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a work week. For employees covered by the federal regulation of the RSA, any work that exceeds 40 hours in a work week is considered overtime. All overtime hours worked must be paid at 1.5 times the normal wage. There is no law in the state of Wyoming that addresses the employer`s right to control an employee`s possession of a firearm in the workplace or on company property.

As a result, employers may prohibit the possession of firearms on the job (including parking lots), even if the employee has a concealed carrying permit. The state of Wyoming has set the minimum wage at a minimum of $5.15 per hour. Wyo Stat. § 27-4-202. Employers must continue to comply with federal wage laws and regulations. An employer can tip employees $2.13 per hour as long as the employee`s tips bring the entire hourly wage to the state minimum wage. In addition, employees who work in companies with fewer than 20 employees are covered by the Wyoming Mini-COBRA, which allows continuous insurance for up to 12 months. The law is administered by the Wyoming Department of Employment, and more information about the law can be found at wyomingworkforce.org/businesses/workerscomp/. Finally, unlike some states, Wyoming recognizes a private cause of retaliation under the law. If an employer discriminates against an employee because he or she has asserted his or her rights under the law, he or she may be required to pay a fine to the Secondary Injury Trust Fund. Most miners who work in Wyoming are subject to federal FLSA regulations.

If the school is not in session: You are allowed to work a maximum of 8 hours per day, no more than 40 hours per week. You can work between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. from June 1 to Labour Day. In states that do not have right-to-work laws, workers may refuse union membership in accordance with federal law. Meanwhile, unions are required to represent everyone in the bargaining unit, regardless of their union status, so they often demand a monthly payment (lower than union dues). Workers who refuse to pay this tax can be fired in states without labor laws. The child labor laws of the state of Wyoming regulate the hours of labor of minors as follows: Unlike state regulations, federal regulations distinguish between these two age categories with respect to legal working hours for minors: These laws prohibit employers from firing, threatening, or retaliating against a whistleblower who files a complaint in good faith. Your team can track in-person work time via the web or mobile app, or you can set up a time kiosk from which employees can clock in and out. Minors between the ages of 14 and 16 who are not enrolled in school may work a maximum of eight hours between 5:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. Wyoming has no rules for overtime, but federal law requires employers to pay non-exempt workers an overtime rate of 1 1/2 of their regular rate for all hours worked more than 40 hours in a work week.

In some cases, we have turned to unions to act on behalf of workers in negotiations with management. Nationally, union members accounted for 11.3 per cent of salaried workers in 2013, unchanged from 2012. Recently, many states have passed laws that affect the cooperation of trade unions, workers and employers. This is a brief summary of the so-called “right to work” laws in Wyoming. Reporting a workplace safety breach Participation in a workplace safety screening Reporting a breach of the Equal Pay Act If an employee works more than 40 hours, they must generally be paid one and a half times the normal wage rate at which they are employed. This does not apply to agricultural workers. Children under the age of 16 are not permitted to work in heavy construction equipment or occupations requiring exposure to explosives or hazardous chemicals, or in any occupation designated as hazardous by the Wyoming Department of Manpower Services. Wyo. Stat. § 27-6-112.

Children under the age of 14 are not allowed to engage in any profession, except on the farm, in the house, and in lawn or gardening work. Wyo. Stat. § 27-6-107. Any employer employing minors under the age of 16 must keep proof of age. Although there is no overtime law in Wyoming, employers subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act must meet these requirements. According to federal law, one and a half hours of the regular wage rate must be paid after 40 hours of work in a work week. Wyoming law states that workers cannot be required to join a union or pay dues as a condition of employment. Further details on labor law in Wyoming are provided in the table below.

For more information, see the Unions section of FindLaw. Minors aged 16 and 17 Minors aged 16 and 17 are allowed to work the same hours as adults. Wyoming does not regulate drug and alcohol testing by employers. However, employers can get a discount on their employees` compensation premiums if they meet certain requirements available here.


About Admin

NextColumn admin wants to share his experience and knowledge with others.

View all posts by Admin →